Vagabond:

“A vagabond or “drifter” is an itinerant person. The word is derived from the Latin adjective vagabundus, “inclined to wander”, from the verb vagor, “wander”. It does not denote a member of a nomadic people, but rather an individual who follows a wandering lifestyle within a sedentary society. Such people may be called drifters, tramps, or rogues. A vagabond is characterized by almost continuous travelling, lacking a fixed home, temporary abode, or permanent residence. Vagabonds are not bums, as bums are not known for travelling, preferring to stay in one location.”

(http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vagabond_%28person%29, 2010-12-22)

Doctrine:

“Doctrine (Latin: doctrina) is a codification of beliefs or a body of teachings or instructions, taught principles or positions, as the body of teachings in a branch of knowledge or belief system.”

(http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Doctrine, 2010-12-22)

 

With these very specific descriptions of the words above (thanks to my very great associate and possibly my favourite conversationalist (in that I have the best conversations with it) – Wikipedia) I hope an understanding begins to shape itself in the mind. I am by no means a guy with the correct answers such that I could preach a dogma, presenting an all-inclusive, cohesive, unchanging doctrine for anyone (including the vagabond).

This is in fact my point, I am a vagabond, and I believe we all are to some degree or another. Looked at from one perspective or another, our lives will look vagabondish. The vagabond is a wanderer and for my purposes also a wonderer. Wandering from thought to thought, experience to realisation to decision to regret, to rejoicing to memory, and then back to thought. As such, I wander from idea to idea, indeed from doctrinal idea to doctrinal idea. This blog then is no liturgy of stone tabletted wisdom, but the ramblings of a vagabond searching for some truth to get by on. I choose to call these perspective truths the doctrine of my life. The doctrine of a wanderer, of a vagabond. Vagabond Doctrine. Enjoy.

